North Carolina 2010 Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl Champs

Thursday, December 30, 2010

North Carolina comes away the winner, downing Tennessee 30-27 in a hard-fought, down to the wire, double-overtime Bowl game. The Tar Heels stopped Tennessee and kicked a field goal in the second overtime to clinch the victory. The 69,143 fans set a Bowl attendance record and all remained on their feet even after the game passed the four-hour mark.

The game kicked off at 5:42 p.m. CST under the light of LP Field in Nashville, Tenn. The Tar Heels struck first with senior tailback and game MVP Shaun Draughn scoring on a 58-yard touchdown run. Tennessee answered as the end of the first quarter neared with a Tyler Bray 29-yard touchdown pass to senior receiver Gerald Jones. The first quarter came to a close with a tie game and an electric game atmosphere.

North Carolina reclaimed the lead early in the second quarter with a 28-yard field goal from Casey Barth. The last ninety seconds of the half were filled with excitement and offense as Tennessee's Tyler Bray completed a 45-yard touchdown pass to Da'Rick Rogers and North Carolina followed a minute later with a T.J. Yates 39-yard touchdown pass to Erik Highsmith. The conclusion of the half brought anticipation of a high-scoring, offense driven game, however the second-half proved unpredictable.

The teams were each led by the defense in the third quarter, with neither team scoring. The scoring drought was not ended until 5:16 remained in the fourth quarter. Tennessee's Tyler Bray completed his third touchdown pass of the game, this time to freshman receiver Justin Hunter. The Vols took the lead 20-17, and held on up until time expired. The last seconds in regulation of the 2010 Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl are sure to be replayed countless times and talked about throughout the off-season.

Carolina regained control of the ball with 31 seconds left in the game. They made it to the Tennessee 25 yard line. As time was expiring on the game clock, the center snapped the ball. Chaos ensued on the field and in the stands as the game officials reviewed the timing of the snap as well as penalties. The final ruling declared the Tar Heels snapped the ball with one second remaining in the game, giving the Tar Heels time for a field goal attempt. Barth's kick was good and the game headed to overtime for the first time in the Bowl's 13-year history.

Tennessee wins the coin toss for the first overtime and elects to go on defense. North Carolina scores on a T.J. Yates rushing touchdown. Tennessee then scores on a Tyler Bray to Luke Stocker pass to send the game into second overtime, tied at 27.

North Carolina wins the toss for the second overtime and elects to go on defense, giving Tennessee the ball first. The Vols get the ball to the 13 yard line, but quarterback Tyler Bray is intercepted by senior linebacker Quan Sturdivant. The possession changes to the Tar Heels, who get the ball on the 25 yard line with a chance to take the win. Carolina takes it to the Tennessee six yard line and attempts a 23-yard field goal. Barth's kick is good and the Tar Heels are declared the winners of the 2010 Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl.